Roger Waters Shares New Music Featuring Eric Clapton

Words by Riley Fitzgerald
Graphic by Press

Roger Waters has shared a new music video.

Originally produced for South American charity Early Learning in 2012, the clip was never formally released to the public.

13 minutes in length ‘The Child Will Fly‘ plays out as a mixture of Pink Floydian grandeur, opera, and South American folk music.

The footage was shot in Buenos Aires, Argentina and features a star-studded cast of musical contributors.

It features performances by vocalists Gustavo Cerati, Pedro Aznar and Shakira,” Roger Waters shares, “and also Eric Clapton, Gerry Leonard, David Mansfield, (guitars) Steve Gadd (drums), Caro Baptista (percussion), Deborah Resto, Doris Eugenio, and Sophia Ramos (backing vocals), Lorraine Cohen (trumpet), Emily Hope Price (cello) and Hagai Izraeli who plays the hauntingly beautiful conch shell in D major in the intro.”

The former Pink Floyd visionary later notes that the vocals of opera tenor Alek Shrader also appears in the clip.

Waters urges anyone with information as to the wellbeing of any of the individuals featured in the video, many of them disadvantaged Argentian children, to get in contact.

God knows what’s happened to those kids,” he writes, “we made this in 2012. So by now they must be? I did try to get in touch with them when I was last in Buenos Aires in 2018 but none of them could be found.

Waters also confirms his This Is Not A Drill US tour has been officially postponed until July 2021.

I have every intention of going out next year starting in July,” Waters writes, “in fact, I shall be monumentally disappointed if, for whatever reason, we can’t. We’ll all have to just wait and see. However, I have looked into the matter of ticket refunds. Ticketmaster assure me that all requests for refunds are being honored, and processed as quickly as possible. Anyone who asks will get their money back in full.

Despite self-isolating for the duration of the coronavirus pandemic, Waters has not been idle.

Advocating for several political causes, he has also released covers of recently departed songwriter John Prine’s ‘Paradise’ and Chilean folk singer Victor Jara‘s ‘Right To Live In Peace‘.

A note from Roger: This is Not A Drill is officially “Postponed”. I have every intention of going out next year…

Posted by Roger Waters on Saturday, 18 April 2020

In Other News


Feature Reads